Eight PBA, PWBA Champions In World Cup Field

The 54th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, which begins today in Las Vegas, will feature eight champions from the PBA Tour and PWBA Tour among the more than 80 countries represented in the event.

Three-time PBA champion Kyle Troup, who won the Storm Lucky Larsen Masters earlier this year, will represent Team USA alongside eight-time PWBA champion Shannon O’Keefe in the event at Sam’s Town Bowling Center.

The World Cup competition consists of 24 games of qualifying followed by an additional eight games for the Top 24. The top eight will then bowl eight games of match play before the final four make the finals in each division.

Troup is coming off a strong season on the PBA Tour in which he set a personal best for earnings with nearly $75,000 and said he is excited to represent Team USA.

"Overall, this has been one of the best years I've had on Tour, plus starting off the year with a win at the Team USA Trials was awesome, too," Troup said. "Tulsa (FloBowling PBA Fall Swing) and the U.S. Open didn't go how I'd hoped, but I've been practicing every day to fix anything in my game that didn't look quite right. I've been very focused on staying competitive, even during practice, and I am excited to be able to represent Team USA at the World Cup."

O’Keefe, meanwhile, was the PWBA’s best player in 2018, earning player of the year honors after winning a pair of titles. Troup and O’Keefe earned spots to compete in the World Cup at the 2018 Team USA Trials in January.

"The World Cup trophy is iconic in our sport like the NCAA trophy is to our college team and seeing my Team USA teammates hold up the World Cup in the past really inspired me," said O'Keefe, the head women's bowling coach at McKendree University. "The possibility of being able to do that, too, would be such an amazingly proud moment."

Colombia is also sending a pair of professional champions to the World Cup as Andres Gomez and Maria Jose Rodriguez will represent their country.

Gomez is a three-time PBA champion who still bowls part-time on the PBA Tour, while Rodriguez has one PWBA title, the 2018 PWBA Tour Championship. Rodriguez also won the 2014 USBC Queens, however the PWBA Tour does not count that as a PWBA title.

Other notable bowlers in the men’s field include five-time PBA champion Osku Palermaa of Finland and one-time PBA winner JoJoe Yannaphon of Thailand.

On the women’s side, three-time PWBA champion Diana Zavjalova will represent Latvia, while one-time PWBA champ Sin Li Jane will represent Malaysia.

Tommy Jones Gets Long-Term Deal From Ebonite

The brands of Ebonite International continue to lock in big talent to long-term contracts as FloBowling has learned 18-time PBA champion Tommy Jones has signed a four-year contract extension with EBI.

POY, ROY Winners To Be Revealed Tuesday On FloBowling

The selection of the 2018 Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year is down to three finalists – Andrew Anderson of Holly, Mich.; Dom Barrett of England and EJ Tackett of Bluffton, Ind. – and the winner will be announced by PBA CEO and Commissioner Tom Clark in a special live FloBowling presentation on Tuesday at 11 a.m. EST.

European Tour Escalates Dispute With PBA

In a terse statement posted Tuesday, the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF) told the PBA its involvement in the European Bowling Tour (EBT) is not welcome starting in 2020.

O'Neill To Stay With Ebonite International Through 2021

When Bill O’Neill signed with Ebonite International in May of 2009 it was with the goal of building a relationship that could span his entire career. In a continuation of that relationship, O’Neill has signed a three-year contract extension with EBI, FloBowling has learned exclusively.

Four Make USBC HOF, National Ballot Set

Four candidates recently were elected to the United States Bowling Congress Hall of Fame by the USBC Hall of Fame Committee, and the four new members will be part of the 2019 class that will be inducted on May 1, 2019, in Las Vegas.

O'Keefe, Cooley Take QubicaAMF World Cup Titles

Since making Team USA for the first time more than a decade ago, Shannon O'Keefe has had her eye on the coveted QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup.

Fan Vote: Who Is Your Pick For PBA POY?

The 2018 PBA Player of the Year race is one of the closest in recent memory, and we wanted to give FloBowling fans a chance to have their voices heard.

Column: Should Anyone Win PBA Rookie Of The Year?

The PBA Player of the Year race is the toughest in recent memory, however, the PBA Rookie of the Year race may be even more complicated for voters.

FloBowling To Broadcast World Championships Starting Dec. 1

The 2018 World Bowling Men’s Championships are coming to FloBowling.

Help Change A Coach's Life: Vote Now For The 2018 Hometown Hero Award!

Hometown Heroes -- an award to recognize the finest coaches in the country who make an impact in the community by changing high school-age athletes' lives for the better. You have from now until Friday, November 16th to vote for the 2018 Hometown Heroes Award. The winner to take home $25,000!