Column: Should Anyone Win PBA Rookie Of The Year?

The PBA Player of the Year race is the toughest in recent memory, however, the PBA Rookie of the Year race may be even more complicated for voters.

Ballots for both awards were sent out Monday night and voters consisting of the entire PBA membership and veteran PBA observers (i.e. media) are to make their decisions by Sunday night.

The race for top rookie is complex and will surely cause issues for some voters who may not think any of the candidates are worthy. The winner will be announced Dec. 10 at the taping of the made-for-television PBA Clash.

There are five rookies on the ballot – Annop Arromsaranon, Kamron Doyle, Mitch Hupe, Rafiq Ismail and Nick Pate – but really only two of them will be seriously considered by most voters.

According to the voters I spoke with, the decision is coming down to Thailand’s Arromsaranon and Doyle. And neither is a great candidate. Some are even opting to vote “none of the above” even though it’s not technically an option.

I checked with the PBA and they said the award will go to the highest vote-getter and even if “none” got the most votes, it wouldn’t matter.

That being said, it’s an interesting forced decision between Arromsaranon and Doyle.

Arromsaranon is the only eligible rookie who actually won a title this season. He beat an extremely limited field of PBA Tour stars to win the Busan Cup in Korea.

The Thai bowler only competed in three events this season and all of them were PBA International events. In addition to winning in Busan, he also competed in the Storm Lucky Larsen Masters and the World Bowling Tour Thailand event.

Doyle, meanwhile, bowled in more events this season than any other rookie (15) and cashed in nearly half of them (7). He also finished 40th on the points list and finished third at the PBA Xtra Frame Gene Carter’s Pro Shop Classic. He had six Top 20 finishes this season.

While Arromsaranon did not compete in any PBA Tour majors, Doyle finished tied for 13th at the United States Bowling Congress Masters, a significant accomplishment.

The bottom line is this: Did Doyle have a great year worthy of being named Rookie of the Year? Probably not. Should Arromsaranon win the award given he never stepped foot in the U.S. to compete in a PBA Tour event? No.

But when it comes down to it, a pick has to be made, and my vote will go to Doyle simply because he put in the time and effort to bowl on the tour on a full-time basis.

He did have some limited success and had he finished the season stronger at the FloBowling PBA Fall Swing and U.S. Open, this would have been a much easier decision.

Ultimately, the PBA could have decided not to award Rookie of the Year this season as they did in 2005. However, their decision to send out a ballot makes the conversation very interesting.

We’ll find out soon enough who the voters pick to win the award.

Lucas Wiseman is the senior editor of FloBowling. He has covered bowling around the world for more than two decades. Follow him on Twitter @Lucas_Wiseman.

Tommy Jones Gets Long-Term Deal From Ebonite

The brands of Ebonite International continue to lock in big talent to long-term contracts as FloBowling has learned 18-time PBA champion Tommy Jones has signed a four-year contract extension with EBI.

POY, ROY Winners To Be Revealed Tuesday On FloBowling

The selection of the 2018 Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year is down to three finalists – Andrew Anderson of Holly, Mich.; Dom Barrett of England and EJ Tackett of Bluffton, Ind. – and the winner will be announced by PBA CEO and Commissioner Tom Clark in a special live FloBowling presentation on Tuesday at 11 a.m. EST.

European Tour Escalates Dispute With PBA

In a terse statement posted Tuesday, the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF) told the PBA its involvement in the European Bowling Tour (EBT) is not welcome starting in 2020.

O'Neill To Stay With Ebonite International Through 2021

When Bill O’Neill signed with Ebonite International in May of 2009 it was with the goal of building a relationship that could span his entire career. In a continuation of that relationship, O’Neill has signed a three-year contract extension with EBI, FloBowling has learned exclusively.

Four Make USBC HOF, National Ballot Set

Four candidates recently were elected to the United States Bowling Congress Hall of Fame by the USBC Hall of Fame Committee, and the four new members will be part of the 2019 class that will be inducted on May 1, 2019, in Las Vegas.

O'Keefe, Cooley Take QubicaAMF World Cup Titles

Since making Team USA for the first time more than a decade ago, Shannon O'Keefe has had her eye on the coveted QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup.

Fan Vote: Who Is Your Pick For PBA POY?

The 2018 PBA Player of the Year race is one of the closest in recent memory, and we wanted to give FloBowling fans a chance to have their voices heard.

FloBowling To Broadcast World Championships Starting Dec. 1

The 2018 World Bowling Men’s Championships are coming to FloBowling.

Help Change A Coach's Life: Vote Now For The 2018 Hometown Hero Award!

Hometown Heroes -- an award to recognize the finest coaches in the country who make an impact in the community by changing high school-age athletes' lives for the better. You have from now until Friday, November 16th to vote for the 2018 Hometown Heroes Award. The winner to take home $25,000!