Jones Is A No-Brainer For PBA Hall of Fame

Sometimes you just see a player’s name and you know they are going to be in the PBA Hall of Fame. Tommy Jones is one of those names.

The PBA sent out this year’s ballot Monday night and Jones is the only eligible player. Any bowling fan knows just by hearing the name that this is a no-brainer.

Hall of Fame voters have until Oct. 14 to send in their ballots and then the PBA will make it official shortly thereafter. The PBA Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place Jan. 18 during the 2020 PBA Hall of Fame Classic at the International Training and Research Center in Arlington, Texas.

With 19 career PBA Tour titles, including two majors, Jones is tied for 16th on the all-time titles list with Chris Barnes, who is already in the PBA Hall of Fame.

Jones has been eligible for the PBA Hall of Fame based on titles for years but was required to wait until he had been a PBA member for 20 years before he could be considered. That wait is now over.

The Simpsonville, South Carolina, native joined the PBA in 2000 and had his break-out season in 2004-05 when he won the Japan Cup, Denver Open, Cambridge Credit Classic and Banquet Open.

The following season he won four more titles, including the U.S. Open, and was named the PBA Player of the Year.

According to the PBA's Bill Vint, in order to be eligible for the PBA Hall of Fame, players must win a minimum of 10 titles or five titles plus two majors. They must also be a PBA member for 20 years.

No other player met that criteria for this year’s ballot.

Faulkner Leads PTQ As 53 Players Advance Into U.S. Open Field

Gary Faulkner Jr. led the way as the field for the 2019 U.S. Open was finalized Wednesday with a pre-tournament qualifier.

U.S. Open To Test Skill, Versatility Starting Friday

With potential PBA Player of the Year implications and a challenging test of versatility and skill, the U.S. Open will be the last chance for players to earn a PBA Tour major title this season.

PBA Star Tommy Jones Elected To PBA Hall of Fame

Nineteen-time title winner Tommy Jones of Simpsonville, South Carolina, and former ownership partners Mike Slade and Rob Glaser have been elected to the Professional Bowlers Association Hall of Fame, PBA Commissioner Tom Clark announced today.

Five Big Names Still Seeking First U.S. Open Title

The list of past champions at the U.S. Open reads as a who’s who of bowling greats – Pete Weber, Marshall Holman, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Mark Roth, just to name a few.

Controversy Behind Him, Weber Ready For U.S. Open

After last year’s U.S. Open, some might expect Pete Weber to have some pointed words entering this year’s event. Indeed, Weber has some biting words, but they are directed squarely at himself.

Contract Extension Keeps Blanchard With Columbia 300 Until 2021

Three-time PBA champion Josh Blanchard has signed a two-year extension with Columbia 300 that will bring his tenure with Ebonite International to a decade.

Ultimate List: Every Player With A PBA Title

In the history of the PBA Tour, there have been 359 players who have won at least one title in their career. None of them has been as successful as Walter Ray Williams Jr., however.

AJ Gets Biggest Win Of Career In Korea

It’s been obvious, especially in the past couple months, that AJ Johnson was on the cusp of breaking through. His big moment happened Friday more than 6,000 miles from home in South Korea.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

FloSports Rebrands, Launches Android App

You may have noticed something different about FloBowling this week…