Butturff Set For Playoffs Debut Tonight

PORTLAND, Maine – Jakob Butturff, the second-highest seeded player in the PBA Playoffs, makes his debut in the show that airs tonight as he takes on Wes Malott.

The other matchup features Bill O’Neill battling Jesper Svensson. The show airs at 9 p.m. Eastern and will be broadcast for U.S. audiences on FS1 while international fans can watch on FloBowling.

Here are the two matches for tonight’s PBA Playoffs show:

No. 2 Jakob Butturff vs. No. 15 Wes Malott

By evidence of earning the second seed in the PBA Playoffs, Butturff is having a very strong season.

He entered the PBA Playoffs fresh off a victory at the USBC Masters and a second-place finish at the PBA World Championship. Since then, he finished second at the DHC PBA Japan Invitational, although that happened after the PBA Playoffs were taped.

Butturff won the PBA Oklahoma Open earlier this season and finished second in the season-opening PBA Hall of Fame Classic.

Malott, meanwhile, survived a shocking first-round matchup with Josh Blanchard in which he won sitting on the bench. Blanchard needed nine pins on his fill ball to eliminate Malott and instead got seven to lose.

No. 7 Bill O’Neill vs. No. 23 Jesper Svensson

O’Neill kicked off the season in the best possible way, winning the PBA Hall of Fame Classic for his first singles title in three years. That kicked off what has been a strong 2019 campaign for the PBA Hall of Fame eligible bowler.

At the World Series of Bowling X, O’Neill was the only player to make the cut in all four events and finished in the top 10 in every event. After finishing eighth at the PBA Cheetah Championship, he was 10th at the PBA Chameleon Championship.

He made the show in the final two events, finishing third at the PBA Scorpion Championship and fourth at the PBA World Championship.

Svensson pulled off the biggest upset in the Round of 24 when he defeated No. 10 Marshall Kent, 206-190. Needing a strike and eight pins to beat Kent, he struck out to survive and advance.

Belmo, Simo Look To Avoid Upset Bug At PBA Playoffs

PORTLAND, Maine – The two highest remaining seeds in the PBA Playoffs will be featured tonight as the quarterfinals get underway.

Barrett Takes Down No. 3 Duke At PBA Playoffs

PORTLAND, Maine – The upsets at the PBA Playoffs just keep on coming.

Duke, Rash Make Playoffs Debut To Close Out Round Of 16

PORTLAND, Maine – Norm Duke’s return to the winner’s circle has been one of the biggest stories of the 2019 PBA Tour season. Tonight, he makes his debut in the PBA Playoffs. 

Pete Weber Wins PBA Title No. 100

Pete Weber has joined Walter Ray Williams Jr. as the only two players to win 100 career PBA titles after he won a PBA Regional last weekend.

Butturff Latest Upset Victim At PBA Playoffs

PORTLAND, Maine – For the second consecutive week, a major upset occurred at the PBA Playoffs as second seed Jakob Butturff failed to advance out of the Round of 16.

Carlson Survives High-Scoring Final To Win First PBA50 Title

In one of the highest scoring championship matches in PBA50 Tour history, Joel Carlson survived overtime against Ron Mohr to win the PBA50 Hamilton Lanes & Entertainment Center Open in Trenton, New Jersey.

Someone Other Than Walter Ray Will Win PBA50 Title Tonight

For the first time this season, there will be a winner on the PBA50 Tour other than Walter Ray Williams Jr.

Viale, Boresch Lead Qualifiers At Hamilton Open

Chris Viale of Westfield, Massachusetts, earned top qualifier honors for the PBA50 Hamilton Lanes & Entertainment Center Open presented by Columbia 300 Saturday with a 3,375 14-game pinfall total (241 average) adding his name to the growing list of newcomers making their presence felt at the top of PBA50 leaderboards this season.

Thomas, Baker Pace Field At Hamilton Open

Greg Thomas of Irmo, South Carolina, opened with a 300 and averaged 251 for seven games Friday to take the first-round lead in the PBA50 Hamilton Lanes & Entertainment Center Open presented by Columbia 300.